Minutes of the MLTAQ AGM 2023 Sunshine Coast Branch

16 February 2023, 4:15pm – Mountain Creek State Primary School – Japanese classrooms Or join online at:

<u>https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_ZDE4MDRIMmUtMWQ0My00NDc0LTgyY2ItYzBINGIwZjYy0TE1%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%226600c7c5-16b5-4baf-9e93-323bd8c01dba%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%22767d9d1b-f109-40ab-8e2f-e08ae915ef54%22%7d</u>

Apologies: Oj Ruggins, Courtney Smith

Present: Alison Law, Peter Grainger, Katrina Dwan, Tammy Di Pietra, Chiharu Sudoh, Ian Gunn, Megan Cleyne, Akiko Okamura, Georgie Richardson, Levi Durbidge, Amanda Miller, Michiko Brenier, Lee-anne Gordon

1. Welcome & acknowledgement of country – Alison Law

2. Minutes of previous AGM (attached)

Moved: Alison Law

Seconded: Katrina Dwan

3. President's Report – Alison Law (see appendix)

4. Treasurer's Report – Katrina Dwan (See appendix)

Moved: Katrina Dwan Seconded: Alison Law

5. MLTAQ Sunshine Coast Branch Office Bearer Positions all declared open.

2022 Executive Committee

- President Alison Law
- Secretary Tammy Di Pietra
- Treasurer Katrina Dwan
- Vice-president Peter Grainger
- Webmaster Alison Law
- Speech Contest Convenor Courtney Smith
- Competition Convenor Amanda Miller

Resolution 2023 Executive Committee

- President Alison Law
- Secretary Tammy Di Pietra
- Treasurer Katrina Dwan
- Vice-president Peter Grainger
- Webmaster Megan Cleyne and Alison Law
- Speech Contest Convenor Courtney Smith seeking a Co-convenor to take on this role in 2024
- Competition Convenor Amanda Miller

AGM was declared closed at 4:23PM

APPENDICES

President's Report MLTAQ Sunshine Coast Branch for 2023 by Alison Law

Thank you to all members for your support during 2022. Special thanks to our Branch Executive – Tammy, Katrina, Peter, Amanda and Courtney – without this strong Executive team our branch would simply not survive! Active members hold up this executive team – so I extend my sincere thanks to all the members who reply to our emails, enter competitions, volunteer at events, go to conferences and attend meetings.

ENGAGEMENT

Entries in the Poster, Writing and Christmas Card competitions were varied and wonderful! Thank you to those teachers who got involved. These competitions are designed to encourage students to use Language in meaningful and creative ways. The judges endeavour to award prizes to students from as many different schools across our region as possible, so that teachers can take these results back to their school community to promote and celebrate their students and Language program.

In 2022 the MLTAQ launched a new website following extensive consultation. I took on the role of Webmaster in 2022 to learn the ways of this new website and I was pleasantly surprised to find that it is very easy to use! Loading content and posting new information is quick and easy. I find the website easy to navigate as a user too. Courtney, Katrina and I look forward using the website to collect payment for the Speech Contest in 2023.

The inaugural SOL (Spotlight on Languages) Film Festival was a wonderful success! A huge congratulations to Meg Cleyne and her fabulous team at St Andrew's Anglican College. Our Branch donated two trophies which were received with great pomp and ceremony at the Award Ceremony. Watch the website for more information about the festival this year, and start getting your films ready!

EVENTS

Wasn't it brilliant to see the return of the Speech Contest in 2022? I found it heart-warming to witness so many students and their families enjoying the event, and to see so many MLTAQ members joining together to ensure its success. Ostensibly this is contest for students, but our members know it's really just a brilliant networking event – a time to connect and enjoy with fellow Language professionals.

Thank you again to Courtney Smith for the many, many hours that she puts into the coordination of the Speech Contest. Thank you to the Language Convenors and other volunteers for bringing it all together with such professionalism.

I was sorry to have missed our Branch Christmas party at the end of last year. I really enjoyed the other opportunities that we made to connect socially in 2022, and I look forward to many more in this new year.

Treasurers report for 2023 MLTAQ Sunshine Coast AGM

Opening balance at 10 October 2022 – \$5453.36 Payments:

Date	Рауее	Amount
17 October 2022	North Coast Trophy Centre Deposit for SOL Trophy sponsorship	202.75
8 November 2022	North Coast Trophy Centre final payment for SOL Trophy sponsorship	239.65
12 December	Katrina Dwan VISA card reimbursement for Christmas dinner	207.95

Total Payments: \$650.35

Receipts:

Date	Payer	Amount
17 October 2022	Mountain Creek State High School – speech competition entries	140.00

Total receipts: \$140.00

Current balance at AGM on 13 February 2023 - \$4943.01

Sunshine Coast Branch financial documents are incorporated under the MLTAQ State Branch and therefore are currently being audited and will be available at the MLTAQ State Branch AGM to be held on Thursday 16 March 2023.

Minutes the MLTAQ AGM 2022 Sunshine Coast Branch

17 February 2022, 4:30pm – via Microsoft Teams

Apologies: Levi Durbidge, Amanda Miller; Nicole Notting, Adriana Lidden, Kate Zischke, Angela Woodriff, Ursula Witham-Young, Tammy DiPietra

Present: Alison Law, Courtney Smith, Bettina Fricke, Debra Carr, Katrina Dwan, Ian Gunn, Lee-Anne Gordon, Megan Clyne, Nathan Williams, Peter Grainger, Jodie Buddle, Michiko Bernier, Chiharu Sudoh,

1. Welcome & acknowledgement of country – Alison Law

2. Minutes of previous AGM (attached)

Moved: Alison Law Seconded: Katrina Dwan

3. President's Report – Alison Law (see appendix)

4. Treasurer's report – Katrina Dwan (see appendix)

Moved: Katrina Dwan Seconded: Alison Law

5. MLTAQ Sunshine Coast Branch Office Bearer Positions all declared open. – Nathan Williams praised the activeness of the Branch and the passion of members. Then opened the floor to nominations for Executive Positions. Nathan shared the new MLTAQ website with members present.

2021 Executive

- President Alison Law
- Secretary Peter Grainger
- Treasurer Amanda Miller and Emi Obara motion passed in October 2021 accepting Katrina Dwan
- Vice-president Katrina Dwan
- Webmaster Michiko Matsumoto
- Speech Contest Convenor Courtney Smith
- Chinese Megan Cleyne
- French Lee-Anne Gordon
- German Bettina Fricke
- Italian Candice Sparks
- Indonesian Linda Sobey
- Japanese P Katrina Dwan
- Japanese S Michiko Matsumoto
- Spanish Veronica Salu

Resolution 2022 Executive

- President Alison Law
- Secretary Tammy Di Pietra
- Treasurer Katrina Dwan
- Vice-president Peter Grainger
- Webmaster Alison Law
- Speech Contest Convenor –Courtney Smith
- Competition Convenor–Amanda Miller

AGM was declared closed at 4.46 pm