Awards and Life Members

MLTAQ Awards for Exemplary Practice

2016 Awards for Exemplary Practice

The 2016 awards were presented on Saturday 15 October at the Qld Multicultural Centre, Kangaroo Point.

Winners for 2016 were:

  • Jo Aaron - Cawarral SS Rockhamptpn
  • Florence Boulard - James Cook University
  • Ashlee Cochrane - Clayfield College
  • Karen Hurford - Mercy College Mackay

2014 Awards for Exemplary Practice - Leadership & Secondary Practice

The 2014 awards were presented on Thursday 2 October as part of the 2014 Biennial Conference at QUT Kelvin Grove.

Winners for 2014 were:

Secondary Teachers

  • Susie Fenton - Tamborine Mountain SHS
  • Elke Jackel - Ormiston College
  • Kerstin Liebchen-Meades - St Aidan's School
  • Shannon Mason

Secondary Leaders

  • Paul Bancroft - Principal, Cleveland District SHS
  • Jesus Bergas-Paz - Indooroopilly SHS
  • Cathryn Bruton - Benowa SHS
  • Richard Fairley - Principal, Townsville Grammar School
  • Sellina McCluskey - Robina SHS
  • Maureen Noakes - St Paul's School, Bald Hills
  • Mark Rickard - Executive Principal, Benowa SHS
  • Karen Spiller - Principal, St Aidan's Anglican Girls School
  • Maria Woods - Principal, Sunshine Coast Grammar School

2013 Award for Exemplary Practice - Primary Practice

The MLTAQ Award for Exemplary Practice recognises the contributions that members of MLTAQ make to the teaching and learning of languages. The focus for 2013 is on primary teacher practice.

The awards were presented on Saturday 12 October 2013 by the Minister for Education, Training and Employment, The Hon John Paul Langbroek at a commemorative dinner at Brisbane City Hall. Professor John Hajek from the University of Melbourne was the guest speaker. John’s speech was entitled Life in the Anglobubble.

The MLTAQ Award for Exemplary Practice in Primary Languages Education was awarded to one or more educators who meet the following selection criteria:

  • Engages with current theories of education
  • Models and promotes exemplary teaching practice and
  • Utilises effective teaching practices which improve learning outcomes for all students.

Winners for 2013 were

  • Anthony Chapman (Redland Bay SS)
  • Jane Everett (Guardian Angels Primary School, Wynnum)
  • Paula Hay (Ormeau SS)
  • Alex Huxley (Peregian Beach SS)
  • Kerstin Liebchen-Meades (St Aidan's AGS)
  • Charles Mackenzie-Smith (St Paul's School)
  • Rosita Moesa (Brisbane SDE)
  • Masumi Morimoto (St Andrew's Catholic College, Cairns)
  • Ojars Rugins (Cooroy SS)
  • Mariko Saito (St Brigid's Primary School, Nerang)
  • Alison von Dietze (St Andrew's Catholic College, Cairns

Follow the MLTAQ on